Back-of-the-Envelope math for SAAS Pricing
I’ve been asking myself “what should a subscription price look like relative to a traditional perpetual license?” Here’s the rough sketch I’ve worked out.
First, I will limit this analysis to revenue and the financial costs of a subscription model, so as to get numbers in real terms. The operational costs, and therefore profitability, can be subject of a future discussion.
Key Inputs:
- Maintentance Revenue: What we expect to earn each year for support and upgrades
- Churn Rate: What percentage of customers will stop purchasing updates (or renewing the subscription) each year
- Cost of Capital: What it costs us to borrow/raise money, in terms of an annual interest rate (APR)
So now we need to delve into “lifetime value” of a customer. Staying completely focused on revenue, we could describe the value of a one-product customer as follows:
- Initial License Revenue + Net Present Value of Maintenance Revenues; or
- Initial License Revenue + ((Annual Maintenance Revenue) / (Discount Rate)); which is
- Initial License Revenue + ((Annual Maintenance Revenue) / (Churn Rate + Cost of Capital))
So, if we assume that changing the pricing model does not affect the churn rate or cost of capital, and we want the same lifetime value from a customer, it stands to reason that an “annual” pricing model would be:
- Lifetime Value = Net Present Value of Annual Price
- Lifetime Value = (Annual Price) / (Discount Rate) which, as established above, is
- Lifetime Value = (Annual Price) / (Churn Rate + Cost of Capital), so, arithmetically,
- Annual Price = (Lifetime Value) * (Churn Rate + Cost of Capital)
- Annual Price = (Initial License Revenue + ((Annual Maintenance Revenue) / (Churn Rate + Cost of Capital)))*(Churn Rate + Cost of Capital)
- Annual Price = (Initial License Revenue) * (Churn Rate + Cost of Capital) + (Annual Maintenance Revenue)
Keep in mind, this is normative: it’s looking for a way to interpret the two in the absence of other intervening factors. So it helps to think about this stuff.
Let’s plug in some numbers. Salesforce.com has a base product for $995 / year. If we assume for a minute that they would charge a maintenance/service/upgrade fee equal to 15% of the original purchase price, a churn rate of 25%, and a cost of capital of prime, which is around 8%, this implies:
- $995 = (Initial License Recenue)*(25% + 8%) + (ILR * 15%)
- $995 = (Initial License Revenue)*(25% + 8% + 15%) - Turning it around,
- Initial License Revenue = $995 / (25% + 8% + 15%) so
- Initial License Revenue ~ $2,000.
Implications:
- The financial risk doesn’t appear to be the key driver. Moving the cost of capital up or down a few percentage points doesn’t drive the math all that much.
- In contrast, the risk associated with churn is huge. Even this math assumes an average customer stay of four years . Since SAAS actually cuts switching costs, it’s reasonable to think that four years is a long time to keep a customer when the environment inevitably turns competitive - the likelihood of losing a customer in the first few years to a competitor - either direct, substitute or DIY - should not be discounted lightly.
- This implies to me that SAAS is really driven by the AAS - the ongoing service revenue is what will drive profitability.
- Interestingly, there do not appear to be multiplicative effects - changing any of the variables on the right side of the equation has only a linear impact.
Need to think about the strategic implications of this math some more.
Update: Cleaned up implications when I realized that they were repeating.

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